Thirsty Thursday: Dark & Stormy

31 Mar

I am excited about today’s signature cocktail because it is one my personal favorites. You don’t see it on cocktail menus a lot because the key ingredient is ginger beer, which most bars don’t regularly carry. I saw it on a menu when we went out to dinner the other night and immediately ordered it. Then we bought the ingredients to make it at home and my husband is now obsessed too! My love affair with the spicy flavor of ginger beer goes back to my toddler days. I grew up in Jamaica until I was three and ginger beer, which is non-alcoholic, was a local favorite and I have vivid memories of drinking down this spicy carbonated drink. Good ginger beer is very bitey. The Goslings ginger beer that we bought is a little too mild.  If you can find it try Great Uncle Cornelius’ Finest Spiced Ginger. The best thing about this cocktail is its so easy to make with only three ingredients: rum, ginger beer and lime.

Try this Dreamy Dish recipe for your next dinner or cocktail party and be taken away to a tropical island! For a pretty presentation some people float the rum over the ginger beer to create a two-tone effect.

Leave a Reply

